"System needs fine tuning"

About: Stepping Hill Hospital

I had aortic valve replacement in May last year and had excellent treatment at the Rehabilitation Centre. I was given an appointment o see a cardiologist, which was altered. As the altered date was inconvenient to me, the staff were very appreciative of my problem and gave an appointment on the phone to be seen by a cardiologist today.

I was hoping that I would get an appointment for an Echo Cardiogram before an appointment with a consultant to get a base reading after my operation. It did not happen. The consultant said that they would ask for one.

As a retired Productivity Services Manager, I felt that if the system is changed it would save the cardiologist time as well as that of patients. The change desired is for a Echo Cardiogram or a scan whichever is required to be done before fixing an appointment to see a cardiologist. I felt today's visit was complete waste of my time and that of the cardiologist.

I am sorry if I have overstepped my brief in giving this feedback.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Stepping Hill Hospital

Many thanks for providing your comments about the appointment services in cardiology.

I am sorry to hear that you had a wasted appointment due to your ECG not having been carried out prior to your consultation.

I have passed your comments to the Business Group who advise that we do usually try to provide apppointments for tests prior to follow up appointments with the consultants.

I am sorry that in your case this did not happen.

If you are ever in a similar situation again, please do note hesitate to contact the appointment service to explain the situation and they will be pleased to rearrange your follow up appointment for a date after your tests have been carried out.

Kind regards

Patient and Customer Services Manager

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful