"need to review test results even when discharged"

About: Blackpool Victoria Hospital

attended ward 10 with kidney infection on monday 11 jan early hours great staff and was discharged same day with antibiotics.on thursday my face and eyes began to swell so attended my gp after they looked at the test results was told the antibiotic would not have cleared up my infection.would have been nice to have a call from the vic once the test results were in to say go to gp to get another antibiotic instead i took 4days of a useless one and now another 5 day of the right one,not blaming any one but perhaps results could be checked even when discharged to avoid anyone elce suffering if i hadnt had a bad reaction to the first one i wouldnt have been any wiser to it not working

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Andrew Heath, Lead in Patient Experience & Engagement, Blackpool Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you taking the time to share your recent experience at Blackpool Victoria Hospital.

Thank you for the positives you have shared about the team on Ward 10. I am sorry that ultimately you felt disappointed that we had not communicated effectively with your GP surgery.

I will share your experiences with the divisions and teams responsible so that they can discuss how this can be improved.

It is important that we try and learn from the experience you have told us about so that we can make improvements; it may also help if we can provide a more detailed and individual response to the concerns you have raised. If you feel that this would help, please email a member of my team at patient.relations@bfwhospitals.nhs.uk.

I hope that your infection has continued to improve since you originally posted this comment.

Thank you once more for taking the time to share your experience


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful