About: Royal Derby Hospital

During my 2 day and night stay I met many members of staff and only one of which introduced themselves. -unfortunately this junior doctor was incredibly patronising.

I was given very little if none at all information about my care and what was going to happen to me. It would appear that of what information I was given - decisions would change and I would not be told. I waited 4 hours to receive IV fluids which I was told were essential to my stay. I waired 7 hours to be discharged - in the end I left without my medication. Had I been informed of why was happening instead of having to constantly asked the wait wouldn't have been a problem. I suppose my main complaints and the cause for my elevated anxiety during my stay were the lack if communication. To be honest I felt like a hinderance, the fact I have worked in the caring profession for over 25 years - I tried to play the devils advocate but unfortunately I still feel very let down by the care and compassion, or lack of it I received.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Derby Hospital

Good morning

We are sorry to hear about your negative experience whilst an inpatient at the Royal Derby Hospital.

We would be happy to investigate the concerns you have raised and could we ask that you contact us directly on 01332 785156 or by email at dhft.contactpals@nhs.net and quote reference 30972.

Kind regards

Patient Advice & Liaison (PALS

Royal Derby Hospital

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful