About: Leicester Royal Infirmary

I have been seen by the ophthalmology department for a very long time and many of the visits have not been a good experience, generally caused by issues out of my control.

Some of the issues that I have faced are that nurses, doctors etc call out pstidnt's name and quickly disappear making it difficult to know where to go.

Considering the reasons why patients are at this type of department showed lack of patient care.

Today was the first time I did not notice this.

Some of consultants / doctors have been very rude, for example one of these members of staff introduced themself by pointing to a piece of paper on the wall.

I assume this displayed their name, but this was no use to me as I was unable to read this and they should have known this by reading the vision distance results taken by the nurse.

No member employed by the NHS has discussed the issues I face and what help I could receive based on my vision.

Considering that I have been to this department from a baby.

I was originally registered as a visually Impaired but got re-registered as Blind in 2002 at the age of 23, this seemed more like a paper exercise.

Nothing was mentioned about the lack of sight I would have left after having a detached retina.

I was able to see the top letter of the eye chart, but after this point I could only see perception of light in the effected eye and my other eye has only 3/60 vision.

Today was the first time a doctor has discussed the issues I face on a day by day basis due to the nature of my eye confitions and th lack of vision I have, and seemed more caring and understanding. Others have done the required tests snd shown me the door.

Although the expetisnced todsy was a major improvemrnt, the same csn not be siad for the reception staff as they are not friendly and are rude.

If I was going to be served in a shop by these, I would shop else where.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Leicester Royal Infirmary

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comment.

We are sorry to hear that you have not been happy with the care you have received in our Ophthalmology department at the Royal. Your experience does not reflect the high level of care we aim to provide all our patients. Your feedback is important and will be used to the improve our service for future patients. If there is anything further you would like to add, please contact me: Martin.Watts@uhl-tr.nhs.uk and will be happy to discuss this with you.

Kind regards,

Martin Watts

General Manager for Ophthalmology

Leicester’s Hospitals.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful