"Acute Medical Unit Care"

About: Royal Lancaster Infirmary

I must tell first probably I should be writing 2 reviews because the doctors are very professional, very nice and I knew I was in good care. Also the night staff nurses were amazing, caring, sorting every problem out straight away. Even the daytime staff when I came home.

BUT on 23/01/16 the daytime staff was a nightmare: couldn't be less caring, neglecting, rude...Till 2 pm no nurse came in to check on me, my drip didn't come, no1 got time to sort it out, I don't even think they did the routine check-ups, no1 cared but there was a lot of chatting, laughing, shouting going on outside in the corridor - full of nurses (or whoever in light blue)!

And I really respect doctors, nurses etc., I know they are mad busy but there was no nurse-management, organising, care... not even mentioning any empathy!!!

When I went out to the reception because I didn't know what's going on and my family called, they didn't let me talk to them and there was no mobile reception in the room, I was told off because I was in isolation which I didn't even realise because no1 told me and they said my small kids can visit me later on...

And more I think back, more annoyed I get and think this is not acceptable...

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Lancaster Infirmary

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about the experience you had at the Royal Lancaster Infirmary recently. We are pleased that our doctors and night nursing staff were caring and supportive during your time with us but are sorry that you did not get the same level of care from the whole team. We would like to discuss this further with you to see if there is anything we can do to improve the experience of our patients. If you would like to discuss this further with us, please contact us via our Patient Relations team on 01539 716621. Thank you again.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful