"Gall bladder removal"

About: Manor Hospital

After initially having a straight forward pre assessment for the operation I was called in as a cancellation within the next two wks, I was told to come into the hospital for 7a.m nil by mouth from 12 midnight the night before, after a arriving with quite a few other people, we waited in the waiting room within the first couple of hrs I was seen by various members of the team and sent for blood test, then after that I was left to wait a further 7hrs before they eventually got round to me, by this time I had a bad head ache, which I'm sure was caused by not having any fluids during thus time, plus I was very anxious whilst anticipating my procedure, only once did someone come and see me, I think it's disgusting that a patient should have to wait this amount of time a total of 9 hrs in awaiting room, surely they could have a better system! I was very disappointed overall and others were saying the same, why book you in at 7a.m if your last on the list can't understand this.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Manor Hospital


Thank you for taking the time to comment. We’re sorry to read about the length of your wait and can appreciate that this is uncomfortable having being nil by mouth, unfortunately this is often necessary. If you would like to give our Patient Relations team a call on 01922 656463 we can look into the reasons for the increased waiting time during your particular operation. This will also help us to better understand and look into how this can be reduced in the future.

We’ve also taken on board that you were only checked upon once. We can appreciate that this is an anxious time and that this is not acceptable, this information has been fed back to the teams involved.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful