"Doctors in Plymouth couldn't have be nice"

About: Derriford Hospital / Accident and emergency St Richard's Hospital / Maternity

(as the patient),

I had gone to have my 3 month date scan at st Richards hospital in Chichester. They couldn't see much on the belly scan so she told me to go and empty my bladder and they would do an internal one. Whilst I was in the toilet she said to my boyfriend it's bad news by the way.

I came back in none the wiser she did the internal scan and said your pregnancy has ended sorry about that like something had run out of stock. No sympathy or care. I then got taken to a private room and had to wait 45 minutes for a doctor to come. He took me into a room where he basically just said so your pregnancy has ended here are your options and induced the miscarriage.

I must say it was an awful experience he did not explain anything to me I had one lovely nurse come in who was helpful and sympathetic and looked quite shocked. I didn't get told any follow up information and a few days later I had to get an ambulance as I was bleeding so much this was in Devon and I got taken to Plymouth hospital.

The paramedics nurses and doctors couldn't have been nicer and more helpful and advised when back home to call the doctor and get an ultrasound.

The doctor I saw at Chichester had no sympathy, he was huffing and puffing getting annoyed because he couldn't take my blood. I called again today after I had been into a and e at the weekend where they advised I have an ultrasound to check it has cleared and he told me I don't need to just To do a pregnancy test in 3 weeks and come back if it's still positive. The treatment I have received from st Richards is disgusting.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Update posted by Bashnelli (the patient)

I find it quite awful that this has been up 2 months and I have not had any response from st Richards or an apology, although it is not surprising.

Response from Western Sussex Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

We are really sorry that you have had this poor experience. As this site is anonymous, we don't have your details to follow this up for you. If you would like some help or would like to discuss this with us further, please contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service at St Richard's. Their email address is PALSChichester@wsht.nhs.uk and their phone number is 01243 831822, and they will be happy to help you. Please accept our apologies.