"A/E in the hospital was clean. ..."

About: The Whittington Hospital

(as the patient),

What I liked

A/E in the hospital was clean. Lots of information was available to patients and the health promotion via the tv screens were good.

What could be improved

The attitude of the staff should be improved, including the receptionists. A/E should consider to appoint some body with some medical knowledge in the reception. None of the staff I met did had a visible name badge or ID card. The hospital should consider to have a 24 hours of Pharmacy on site or should be able to provide all the drugs from the A/E to the patient, as I have to wait for the next day for me to start on my medication as there was no near pharmacy at that time of the day (2200)

Anything else?

I went to the A/E at 8 pm. and I arrived in to the reception and the three staff in there was sitting and chatting and did not care about some body came to A/E. I told them about the problem I had, and the receptionist started to ask me some questions , which they should not be asking. eg: have you been to the GP yet , and why not. I did not have a GP as I moved to the area recently.When I told them that , they told me that'' this is a A/E department and they would not consider my problem as Emergency'' and I was told that I should be go to a walking centre instead. My problem is an emergency for me but may not be for a receptionist.

Then they asked me to go and sit down in the waiting area and the triage nurse called me. The triage nurse was not a happy person and did not introduce themself to me. They took some observation and asked me some questions. I am a nurse as well. I did not feel that this nurse would stand for pt's comfort and well being. These nurses could at least smile to the their patients. I felt very unvalued when I was sitting in the triage room as the communication from the nurse was poor. Then I send back to the waiting area to see a doctor.

After a short the doctor called me and examined me. but they were much better than the all the people i met so far as at least they introduced themself to me, I was examined and provided with some medication and prescription. But i was unable to start the drug as there was no pharmacy near my house or with in the hospital to buy them.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from The Whittington Hospital

Thank you for your feedback. Apologies that this was not responded to before, however the PALS and Complaints Department have only recently taken on responding to NHS Choices feedback.

I am sorry that you had a negative experience with this hospital. Since the time of your comment we have been working hard to improve standards. Should you have concerns about the care provided by the Whittington in future, please do not hesitate to contact the PALS and Complaints Department on 020 7288 5551 or whh-tr.whitthealthpals@nhs.net.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful