"spinal operation and after care on ward"

About: Leeds General Infirmary / Trauma and orthopaedics

(as the patient),

I had wonderful care from my consultant and the spinal nurse, however because I had complications after 1st surgery I spent almost 3 weeks in hospital and had another operation.

There was a mixture of spinal and cranial patients on the ward and it was soon clear that the spinal patients came secondary to the cranial patients.

One nurse in particular was very rude, I had to wait almost 1 hour for pain relief because she said she was on her lunch one night and even then went looking at all the other sleeping patients before bringing me my pain relief. I felt I was subjected to psychological bullying by her on this ward and cried every day for my husband to take me home. It was the worst experience ever in hospital..

My wound became infected, I had to stay longer so the wound could be monitored. No-one bothered to look at it and just wrote in my notes that it was fine. When I complained I was told they expected me to tell them if their was a problem with the wound, but I could not feel anything so would not feel if it was bleeding or not. They said that if I woke up in a pool of blood then I would know something was wrong wouldnt I?

I was so traumatized and ill after my stay I just wanted to forget it and concentrate on my recovery at home so did not complain at the time. I wish I had, some of the nurses on that ward ought to find another job, they have the wrong attitude to be nurses. However, I would still like to emphasise the exceptional treatment received from my surgeon and the spinal nurse Fiona, its such a shame that they were let down by shabby nursing.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Leeds Teaching Hospitals

Dear traumatised lady,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us.

I am very sorry to read that you had such a distressing time whilst in our care; the level of service that you have described is not what we wish to offer.

Unfortunatley as you have not included which ward you were on I am unable to pass your comments onto the relevant Matron.

It would be very beneficial for our services and for future patients care if you could discuss the matters you have raised further with our Trust’s Patient Advise and Liaison Service (PALS). This would also allow us look into the matters you have raised more thoroughly and also to see if there are any lessons that we could learn from your experience.

Please call our Patient Advise and Liaison Service (PALS) on 0113 206 6261 or alternatively email patientexperience.leedsth@nhs.net


Senior Nurse

Patient Experience

  • traumatised lady thinks this response is helpful
    {{helpful-1}} other {{helpful-1 == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} so too