"Colonoscopy and Endoscopy Upset!"

About: Crosshouse Hospital

(as the patient),

I was treated fine by the nursing staff but not by the Endocopist I got. I have had both of these before and could not speak highly enough.

Not so this time. The endoscopist couldn't find a vein to put the line in for my painkiller or anesthetic. When they tried putting it in my wrist the blood went every where! They put a plaster on dropped the swab on the floor and went to use it again, until they saw my face and asked for another. Then the endoscopist went for the other wrist! I was going to look as if I'd slit my wrists! 

They also hurt me putting it in my wrist. I managed to get them to put it in the back of my hand. I was ready to Leave, though I didn't say. The nurses cleaned up the blood.

I was then told they would like to do an endoscopy too. I was terrified but I thought I will be under sedation. So I agreed as I didn't want to come back.

The sedation didn't work well at all and although I coped reasonable well with the colonoscopy I didn't with the endoscopy. I started taking a panic attack and I wanted out of there. They managed to do the test but only because the nurses tried to calm me.

I am deeply upset by the way I was treated and I hope to God I never need these tests again. It's made me very scared.

I know the two I had a few year ago I had no complaint and only praise!

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Eunice Goodwin, Patient Feedback Manager for NHS Ayrshire and Arran, Quality Improvement and Governance Team, NHS Ayrshire and Arran

picture of Eunice Goodwin

Dear Pixiepet,

I am so sorry that you have had this experience during your recent endoscopy and Colonoscopy. It is disappointing that this is how you were left feeling. For lots of reasons, we really do not want you or anyone else feeling this way and it could clearly interfere in your future care. On reading your story, I wondered if you would like to talk to a manager about your experience so we can address the points you made.

If you would like to contact me to arrange to chat with a senior manager about this, I can be contacted by email at eunice.goodwin@aapct.scot.nhs.uk or phone me on 01563 826222.

Again, can I say how sorry I am and in the meantime, I will pass this on to the management team.

I hope you are feeling better now and your results are clear.

Kind regards,


  • Pixiepet thinks this response is helpful
    {{helpful-1}} other {{helpful-1 == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} so too

Response from NHS Ayrshire and Arran

I do apologise for your experience while having your examination done in the endoscopy unit.

I can reassure you that none of the endoscopists would re-use any swabs from the floor although it may have come across that way. Because you are fasted and get your bowel preparation the night before, sometimes it can be quite difficult to find a vein for the sedation as you can be quite dehydrated from. It was regretful that the back of her hand was tried instead of your wrist again.

On the day of examination, it is sometimes in your best interest to have an upper GI scope as well to save you having to come back again for another test. I’m sorry to hear that the sedation did not work as well as previously. As this is only a conscious sedation and we need to be careful not to over sedate you for fear of respiratory complication which have the potential to damage your organs.

I would be happy to meet with you and talk about this in more detail if you think this will be helpful. If you would like to contact Eunice on the details above, she will arrange this for you.


The Clinical Director

Surgical Unit

  • Pixiepet thinks this response is helpful
    {{helpful-1}} other {{helpful-1 == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} so too

Update posted by Pixiepet (the patient)

I am going to e mail you as I need to explain in more detail. I am not happy with the response of the Clinical Director.