"New Year Bad Start"

About: Kettering General Hospital

Had to wait for an ambulance for 4 hours after 1st call made, this was on the 01/01/2016, which I can understand due to New Years celebrations.

But the paramedics were brilliant, couldn't fault them, shame hospital staff weren't the same.

Went in with sudden and unexplained servere back pain.

Had one nurse come in a check blood pressure after 20mins, had enough come in after another 20mins to check internal body temperature.

Then saw no one for another 2 hours, before another nurse came to draw blood.

Another hour later another nurse/practitioner person came and took my notes away.

A further 15-20mins they came back abruptly insisting I provide a urine sample.


I had Servere back pain, couldn't sit down, could barely move or walk, but they insisted.

My mum had to help me to the toilets, and assist me further.

Upon return they took it away and disappeared to return 15mins later to do a very brief examination, to insult me further by being extremely condescending towards me and explain exactly what Codine does to the body.

I know what it does, but talking to me like I was 4 years old is not exactly professional!

Not only that but they kept repeating their comments 5 times over.

Told me I had to get my clothes back on my self and told my mother not to help me!

I had Servere Pain, Really Servere, but they wouldn't let me explain any of it.

I came to the conclusion they didn't want me in A&E on New Year's Day and honestly I think I'd have just been better off staying at home, gritting my teeth and baring the pain.

Kettering Hospital has got to be the worst hospital ever!!!

And I only hope my back pains aren't anything more serious.

All in all Hospitals and staff don't need more money, they need better communication skills and empathy with their patients.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Kettering General Hospital

Thank you for your feedback regarding your experience at our Accident and Emergency department. The department was exceptionally busy new year’s day and I understand there was a long wait to be seen by a clinician. You have raised several negative points regarding your experience and care. Unfortunately without knowing your details and looking at your medical documentation, it is difficult for me to comment further. However, I would like to apologise that your experience within the department was not a positive one.

If you would like to discuss your concerns further, please contact our Patient Advise and Liaison Service (PALS) on 01536 493305. I would be more than happy to meet you and go through each point you have raised.

Rebecca Norton

Accident and Emergency Lead Nurse

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful