"Poor attitude of Consultant"

About: Cumberland Infirmary / Gastroenterology

(as the patient),

Admitted for blood and iron transfusions Aug 2015. First ward (Larch) could not fault staff or cleanliness. Moved on second night to Aspen, staff and cleanliness sadly the complete opposite of Larch.

Saw Gastro consultant (and entourage). Advised I was wasting NHS time, should not be there (I had a private operation over nearly 15 years earlier and therefore should go back). I tried to explain this operation is unlikely to have caused the problems currently being experienced. The consultant said they would look at no other cause. The consultant spoke loudly (therefore no privacy or confidentiality on the ward), I felt belittled and I felt they showed attitude which should not be evident in any career especially medicine.

As an aside the consultant asked the team to organise some blood tests and stated I suppose you should have a further gastro appointment. I mentioned I had one booked for approx 3 weeks time (had been arranged by GP prior to health took a turn for the worse). The consultant told the team to cancel the appointment for me so someone more worthy could have it. The final humiliation was to say to me they could do an endoscopy but they do not know what they would find inside, as who knows what the private operation had done.

Once the consultant had moved on to the next patient I left the ward in tears. I spoke to my husband in the foyer of the hospital. He persuaded me to stay on the ward until discharged. I left the hospital later that day, had I not been discharged I had planned to not stay another night.

I am still without a diagnosis however am trying to tell my GP I have lost confidence in both Cumberland Infirmary and the gastro department. Unfortunately the GP advises purely to take someone along with me if I see the consultant.

I tried to contact the PALS team however they has a message saying it was closed.

There are no excuses for this behaviour.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Cumberland Infirmary

I am very sorry you had such a poor experience when you were in the Cumberland Infirmary, it is not acceptable that you were spoken to in this way.

I would like the opportunity to look into your concerns and would therefore be grateful if you will contact me via the complaints team as I would like to have more details.

I look forward to hearing from you


North Cumbria University Hospitals NHS Trust

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful