"just completely confused"

About: Leicester Royal Infirmary

I feel very broken about the whole situation surrounding ivf and care for older women who have this as their only chance to have children. I am exceptionally confused about the conflicting information from staff re how the whole process works, what happens if results are low and worse than that, why I should put up with the rudeness I encountered yesterday. Having been assaulted years back leaves me in a very frightened, very worried and scared predicament anyhow. I would have liked this chance but feel it has been pulled from under neath me and my husband for this one chance to have something in our lives that everyone else has, it's not too much to ask for the chance at the age of 42, it's taken lots of bravery to even bother with this. The hospital have not in my opinion been considerate of my husband and I'd age or how stressful this is. If this doesn't work or if people don't try that is going to cause more problems than anything, I feel no-one is good enough to understand just how incredibly stressful this is. I didn't ask to be raped, take years to trust anyone or years to have children. I feel punished for trying to have something in my life which is ten a penny for some women, what we do now is anyone's guess. Can anyone advise me where we go next? I'm devastated and just need support - proper support off someone who understands.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Leicester Royal Infirmary

Dear Frances,

We apologise for your negative experience and the service is responding to the concerns you have raised, however, if you wish to discuss this further with a member of the department please contact info@leicesterfertilitycentre.org.uk.

Kind regards,

Communications Team

Leicester's Hospitals

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful