"This Unit will drive you round the twist!"

I had my regular appointment with my doctor - I had to wait many weeks for this - when they came in, I stood up & they asked for someone else! Seeing they were double-booked they fled the reception area like it was on fire. After a 20 minute wait I was called into another room to see a Manager & told that reception had tried to cancel the appointment, yet I had received no messages; just a text confirming the apt, which I showed the Manager. There was one voicemail but no message, simply one person talking to another (I figured out later that it was the receptionist who had rung me - it comes up as unlisted on my phone - they was talking to the other receptionist and not paying attention to the task in hand.) I still have the voicemail.

The Manager was very officious & tried to intimate that it was I that was at fault at one point. They had a terrible attitude. I felt so angry with all the bother of getting there and paying for parking, childcare, etc. They didn't give me an adequate reason why they were discontinuing my treatment with the Dr I was booked in with albeit I pressed for an answer. I think it was a trainee doctor who was well out of their depth with me!

In the end I stormed out when he offered me another appointment with someone else way in the future... I was in a bad way now & desperately needed help, so I went private. It is only now that I can talk about the disturbing day. Furthermore, the Manager wrote to my GP with a completely different version of what happened.

I was there for 6 sessions as an Outpatient referred from my GP.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from St Charles Hospital

We are sorry that you had a bad experience at St Charles. There are a number of services at the hospital and many of them are not managed by our Trust, this includes outpatients’ appointments.

We would really like to hear from you to find out which team/service you were seen by at St Charles so we can look into this further. Please contact our Patient Support Service on 0300 013 4799 or at feedback.cnwl@nhs.net

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful