"Dismissed by specialists"

About: Mid Argyll Community Hospital and Integrated Care / Gynaecology

(as the patient),

After trying to resolve my painful periods and bladder issues through my GP, she referred me to the urogynaecology service at the "local" hospital (which was 2. 5hrs away). First issue was they didn't take into account the travelling time, and allocated me an appointment at 9am. I was due to see Doctor X, however I was seen by his junior. If I am due to see Doctor X, I would like to see Doctor X. I thought they were very dismissive from the get go. They filled in a form that all new patients had to have filled in - stuff like have you been pregnant, when was your last period, stuff like that. After filling in the form, they had a quick feel of my stomach and that was that. She gave me a leaflet on bladder training, and said that painful periods are normal, implying that I just need to learn to deal with it.

The level of pain I experience every month is not normal, I am seriously concerned there's something wrong, but according to her, I'm fine. She did not once ask any questions that my GP hadn't asked and that wouldn't be on my notes. There were no questions that could even diagnose (or rule out) any issues.

I am now left feeling very despondent, I want to ask for a second opinion but I am scared to do so incase I receive the same treatment.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Fiona Campbell, Clinical Governance Manager, NHS Highland

Dear letrosesbloom

I am very sorry to hear about the problems you are experiencing with painful periods and bladder issues. This must be very distressing for you.

You say that you were referred to the urogynaecology service at your ‘local’ hospital (2.5 hours away); that the timing of the appointment was not good for you; you did not feel that the appointment was helpful and you remain concerned.

Regarding the timing of appointments, I am disappointed that consideration was not given to the distance that you live from the hospital. I know that staff usually try to take travel time into consideration and when an appointment time does not suit they will be happy, if notified, to offer a more convenient date or time.

I can understand that it must have been very frustrating for you to have got up early, travelled such a long distance and after all that, you feel no further forward.

I would like to look into your concern for you. For me to do that, I would need more information about where you live and to confirm, as indicated by your posting, that the clinic was held at the Mid Argyll Hospital. Would you be happy to either email me at: fionacampbell@nhs.net or to ring me on 07771 576166?

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful