"Children's paediatric care"

About: Northumbria Specialist Emergency Care Hospital

I attended the hospital today as my GP referred my 2 year old daughter for a chest xray following on going bronchitis issues and a continued problematic cough with other bad symptoms (high temp spikes with rigors, concerning SATS etc). The nurses I saw in triage were fine, I am not remotely complaining about them. The wait for the doctor on Christmas Eve was expectedly longer than those I ever had at rake lane (as I said this is ongoing). The doctor I saw was I felt dismissive, unconcerned, uninterested and actually quite rude and condescending. They treated me as a time waster and also made comments regarding my GP that claimes they were a time waster and a poor practitioner too. It was very upsetting and very disconcerting.

Because my daughter at the time of being seen by them was well in herself (as in I had brought her temperature down with nurofen) they basically looked at her listened to her chest very briefly and said they could guarantee she has no chest infection or bronchial issues and that there was nothing wrong with her.

The xray requested by my GP was refused. The fact she has only been well since October when on antibiotics tells me and my GP there is something wrong. I am now at home with a very poorly 2 year old under instruction from this so called paediatrician to bring her back when she is requiring IV antibiotics. It is disgusting that it would be an acceptable way forward. Next week I shall make an appt with my GP to make a formal complaint.

If my daughter does end up needing IV antibiotics I shall be making a full complaint to the GMC as I am not a neurotic, NHS time wasting individual.

I do however know first hand my daughters problems and history. I am now listening to my daughters worrying and constant cough, waiting for her to get worse so that she can get the investigation and treatment she needs. Appalling 'care' attitude.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Northumbria Specialist Emergency Care Hospital

Dear Sir/Madam

Please accept my sincere apologies you have had to wait so long to receive a response. Most importantly, I hope that you daughter has improved.

I’m disappointed to read your comments, and very sorry that you didn’t feel listened to. We would never want any patient, or their relatives, to describe interactions with one of our doctors in the way you have. It’s important patients and their relatives are always spoken to respectfully.

We would very much like to talk to you about your daughter’s visit so we can understand more and look into this further. As I don’t have your details to contact you directly it would be helpful if you could talk to our Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 0800 032 0202 who will work with us to find out more information. They can also help with any complaint you may wish to make, although we would first welcome the opportunity to talk to you to see if we can rectify any concerns.

We look forward to you getting in touch.

With kind regards

Claire Riley, director of communications and corporate affairs