"Hip problems after Achillies rupture"

About: South Western Ambulance Service NHS Foundation Trust / NHS 111 Weston General Hospital / Trauma and orthopaedics

(as the patient),

Achilles Rupture healed.

A hip problem developed afterwards from using a "Knee Scooter" to get about on.

Long waiting time to see a specialist.

Specialist referring me for treatment to parts of the hip with out looking at the whole of the hip area via MRA scan.

I found that the specialist treating me was impassionate, impatient & rude.

6 months have passed & I'm still not able to walk

Nerve pain in the hip area keeps me awake all through the night

111 hospital service ie Ambulance & Doctor have called. Christmas Day they came out to me. Both Ambulance Man & Doctor told me  That in order to be treated in reasonable time I would have to be admitted to the hospital. 

I do not want to go in & leave my pet, when I feel that the correct scans would identify the problem. A hospital stay will cost the state more & is inconvenient for me & my pet.

I have to wait another month in horrid pain & unable to do more than make my way to the toilet & kitchen for a drink & back to collapse in bed.

I can not take much more & need a proper whole hip scan & a good specialist that listens, see's and cares.

I think it's disgusting to have been treated with impatience & rudeness even though they can clearly see that it has been a massive effort to get their in a manual wheel chair.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Sara Coburn, Patient Engagement Manager, Governance, South Western Ambulance Service Foundation Trust

Good Afternoon Tangie,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I hope your hip treatment goes well and that you have a speedy recovery.

I am unable to comment on the care you received from the Hospital as our Trust does not manage that service. Please feel free to reply if you have any other comments about our 111, ambulance or GP Out of Hours services.

Thank you, again, for providing us with feedback.


  • Tangie doesn't think this response is helpful
    {{helpful}} other {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} think it is helpful

Response from Rebecca Rafiyah Findlay, Head of Communications, Weston Area Health NHS Trust

Hello Tangie,

We’re very sorry that you are upset and that you didn’t feel we gave you enough time. It must be difficult when you're in pain and worried about leaving your pet to have your treatment. We’ll pass your comments on to the Consultant Surgeon who is in charge of the Orthopaedic department. Our Orthopaedic team care very much about their patients and he’ll be disappointed to learn that you feel the way you do and will feedback your comments to his team.

If you would like us to look into this further for you in more detail please contact our PALS service 01934 647216 or email wnt-tr.pals@nhs.net.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful