"ward 29/28 urology"

About: Leicester General Hospital

The staff on ward 29 could not on the whole have been nicer,but some did not appear to know what others were thinking/saying, lack of information has caused me considerable upset&confusion, catheter is not long so becomes painful when erection occours I dread to think what is done for men even bigger than I,why not discretely ask&fit a more appropriate length,no written info on this device was given,and now I have been sent another appointment for18th january subsequently to first one given for29th dec no way is this thing stopping in me until then if it is not out by end of this month then I will take it out myself it remaining in me as it is untenable+ is increased risk of secondary infection&is an infection in first place that caused me to end up like this in 1st place, so sorry I am not happy now at all+antibiotics should have been given on admission as infection was detected at royal &on letter they gave me to show at ward29 this didnt appear to be on ward notes til I repeatedly asked several staff why weren't they given finally nurse went away&came back with sticker&put on notes&most of the staff confusion disappeared&things got going pills were given on discharge later that day24 hrs earlier would obviously been better&cut risk of any escalation, staff though were good altitude on whole&very Careing and no homophobia was apparent at all, my sexual orientation is very obvious, my rollator walker sporting its gay pride rainbow&gay leather colours, I do not for one minute think anything was deliberate but there needs to be lot more info to patient verbally&written leaflets on catheters ectr so one knows what to expect+I had to taxi back same night for night bagsĀ£12.00 taxi&had been awake for over33 hours due to waiting for procedures that never happened anyway because weren't needed in 1st place&all that time my dogs shut in home alone+unplanned litter of4week old pups, I am neurological disabled and life is bad enough all ready, I remain very distressed &upset but is no complaint of actual behavior/altitude of staff as I could not fault this inspire of some obvious confusion between shifts as to what was/wasn't going to happen&what was/wasn't wrong effect on me has not been good I have at times not known what to think though googling has clarified a great deal, as far as I was told 29th Dec appointment was for catheter removal&possible bladder scan I assumed, were it not for googling the letters no:s I found on discharge letter when I opened it few days later ie never have known what to expect&would have been totally unprepared for all else!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Leicester General Hospital

Thank you for your feedback with regards to the service you received at Leicester General Hospital.

We hope that at your follow-up appointment any concerns you had were addressed however if not if you would like to email Clair Riddell, Matron email: clair.riddell@uhl-tr.nhs.uk advising your name, address and hospital number they will be in contact with you.

Kind regards, Communications Team, Leicester's Hospitals.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful