"Concerns about Ninewells physiotherapy following surgery"

About: Ninewells Hospital / General Surgery

(as the patient),

I had spinal surgery recently and was disappointed that I was not given sufficient time with a physiotherapist prior to my discharge. I had no advice as to how to get in and out of bed, how to get dressed, etc. When I asked the night staff on the Ward, they could not help me either, with regards to getting into bed.

This was major surgery and all I received was a patient leaflet with exercises to do and a bit of information about other things, none of which were to do with the main 2 issues mentioned above.

If it wasn't for friends who sent me YouTube links, I would have been in dire straits and possibly have undone all the good work carried out by my surgeon.

I am disappointed with this standard of care and would hope that this is addressed in both the patient leaflets and discussions prior to discharge in the future.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Alison Moss, Feedback Manager, NHS Tayside

Dear Astiforme

I am sorry you were disappointed with the standard of care you received recently, when you had spinal surgery, and that you were not given sufficient time with a physiotherapist prior to discharge.

Physiotherapy input after spinal surgery does vary, depending on the type of surgery, and your consultant’s wishes, so leaflets produced have to be quite generic.

The patient information leaflet does describe the exercises you should do to help your recovery but thank you for highlighting further information that could be included. We will certainly take this opportunity to review the leaflet and include a broader range of advice.

If you are still struggling with any of the exercises and live in Tayside or NE Fife, please contact the NHS24 musculoskeletal helpline on 0800 917 9390 when you receive a telephone consultation and may be given further advice or referred to physiotherapy if this is required. If you live further south in Fife, please discuss onward referral with your General Practitioner.

I note that the night staff were unable to help you either, with regards to getting into bed. Nursing staff, as part of their induction, spend a period of time with the physiotherapy team to support their knowledge around this area of patient care and I am sorry if you were given the impression that a staff member could not advise you on your mobility. I will ensure your experience is shared with the service.

If you would like to share further information with us, we would be happy to look at more specific details of your care so we can ensure we address all aspects effectively and efficiently. Please contact the Complaints and Feedback Team on 0800 027 5507 (freephone) or via email to feedback.tayside@nhs.net

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Patient Opinion

Kind regards.

Alison Moss

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful