"antenatal care / MAU and Ward 5"

About: Leicester Royal Infirmary

I have been admitted twice now to Ward 5 and still not due for another 4 weeks. I have visited MAU on 4 occasions. Although we have waited twice for almost 30 minutes to be seen on MAU the quality of care we have received there has been great. The midwifery team are fantastic. Sometimes though frustrating as once they have done all their tests they are often waiting for doctors to come down from delivery suite to assess patients before they can be admitted or discharged. One one occasion we were left for almost 3 hours before the doctor could see us. I think this busy unit deserves a doctor of their own. X as for my care on the wards ... it was great x difficult sometimes x as again the midwifes are left begging for doctors x Food at lunchtime leaves a lot to be desired ! Especially with the blue gloved server touching ham/meat and then serving salad out a bag with the same gloves! Great when you are vegetarian.. wondering what else they have touched with their contaminated fingers! Sometimes they left the ward to fetch trays of juice/yoghurt etc. With gloves on ' touching doors etc. Then came back to serve without changing their gloves! Disgusting! Best to do self service like breakfast! Dinner served to your bed in the evening which was 3 courses and hot and quite tasty ... lots of choice. I just had to hope the same dirty server hadn't touched it! X I got to know some amazing staff on the ward that couldn't do any more to help me they were fantastic x just hope they are on when I finally get to have baby x x x

More about:

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Leicester Royal Infirmary

Dear Reviewer,

We are very happy to hear about the level of care provided to you by the midwifery team. This has been shared with the team. We are, however, sorry to hear about the concerns you have raised regarding food. We will revisit the training with the employee as this is clearly not acceptable. Using gloves does at times give a false sense of hygiene, but they do need to be used appropriately. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your dinner. If you wish to discuss any matters further then please email me at Elizabeth.L.Tebbutt@uhl-tr.nhs.uk.

Kind regards,

Elizabeth Tebbutt

Head of Performance & Quality Assurance

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful