"Very poor experience"

About: Russells Hall Hospital / Maternity

(as the patient),

Been waiting to be induced since midday but sent back home after 5 hours as there was more important cases. Told to ring back at 7pm.

Rang back at 7pm to find they were on handover so told to ring back at 7:30pm.

Rang back then to have them take out number to ring us when a bed was available. They rang back at 9pm to say be here for 9:30pm.

Only just got in a room after waiting in a waiting room. It's now almost midnight and still haven't seen a soul. I’ve never been so disgusted with a service. To describe my experience as very poor is a understatement.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from The Dudley Group NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your visit to our Maternity Unit. We are very sorry to hear you were disappointed with your experience.

Because of the nature of the service, bed availability in the Maternity Unit is largely unpredictable, as women can arrive in various stages of spontaneous (natural) labour at any time. This means that women who are due to be induced, as long as baby is safe and not in distress, will sometimes have to wait to be admitted if there are not enough beds available. We ask women to call at regular intervals so they can wait at home comfortably while waiting for a bed. Likewise, even if induction has been arranged in advance, if an unexpected influx of women who are already in labour and in immediate need arrive at the unit, these women must be prioritised.

We have passed your comments onto the matron and lead midwives for our Maternity Unit who will share your feedback with the team.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful