"The screens are good, but I feel that poor practice creeps in"

About: Royal Manchester Children's Hospital

(as other),

I have a 12 year old son and I have to take him to Manchester Children's Hospital for appointments every 3 months. When you get to the hospital you go in and register your arrival at a machine. Then a nurse comes into the waiting room and calls your name out. I'm hearing impaired and don’t hear my name; my son has to tell me.

Then you wait again for the appointment with the consultant and your name appears on a screen and the screen bleeps to alert you when your appointment is ready. These boards [screens] are good, but I feel that poor practice creeps in.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Patient Experience Lead, Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for your feedback about your visits to the Royal Manchester Children’s Hospital. We are sorry to learn that your experience was not as positive as we would hope and that you have concerns about the potential for poor practice. It is very difficult to respond to the specific concerns you have raised without being able to investigate them in detail. We take all issues surrounding patient care very seriously and would very much like to hear from you directly about your experience. If you contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 0161 276 8686 or by e-mailing pals@cmft.nhs.uk they will discuss this with you.