"Extremely disorganised maternity services"

About: The Whittington Hospital

Since the very beginning the maternity services seemed extremely disorganised and unhelpful.

After doing a self referral and not hearing back way past the suggested time, I tried to contact the ward. Took me hours to reach someone just to be told to call elsewhere, but I got the appointment information eventually. Booking in appointment was a bit disorganised and I was given misleading information.

Unfortunately I started bleeding at 9 weeks, called the EPU just to be told they don't think I need to be seen and to wait to see if the bleeding stops. It did but returned few days later, yet again unhelpful person on the phone told me I can come and be seen by a doctor if I think I need to.

The doctor was helpful and explained everything well and I was given scan appointment for the next day. Sadly I miscarried the baby.

After a check up I was told all my future appointments will be cancelled and due to the situation I won't be contacted again.

4 weeks later and I got a call from a midwife telling me one of my appointments was moved to another day. They didn't have a clue I had a miscarriage and thought the pregnancy is well. I was told this is down to the fact that they use several paper diaries and they don't update them with the computer data.

I found that incredibly distressing and disrespectful.

I realise that nhs hospitals are in a shortage of quality staff but still expect some respect in such a hard time of woman's life.Would be great if the Whittington made some changes to avoid administrative errors of this kind.

I definitely won't be returning

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from The Whittington Hospital

We are incredibly sorry for your loss and that you had to go through this distressing experience. We have shared your experience with our maternity team so that they can review it and make sure to learn some very important lessons.

If you would like to discuss anything further, please do get in touch with our patient advice and liaison service on 020 7288 5551 or whh-tr.whitthealthPALS@nhs.net. We take complaints seriously because they are an opportunity to put things right and stop problems recurring.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful