"Very disappointed with attitude of sonographer"

About: Princess Anne Hospital

Went in for my 20 anomaly week scan today, and was looking forward to seeing my baby as most mothers are. We were told to come in to the scanning room and I was told to lay down. Already at this point, it was clear that the sonographer was not the chatty kind so we did as they asked. The sonographer did not explain anything to us about the scan nor did they ask us any questions. It was as if we were supposed to sit there in silence until they were ready to perform the scan. Once they began, they showed us the relevant bits of baby. Then started to take her measurements while talking to themself. My partner attempted to ask a question and they immediately told him not to speak and to 'bear with them'. We found this particularly rude. They didn't at any point ask him what he wanted to say. Just at the end, we asked the gender of the baby, they said we should have a gender scan as they are the only ones who can tell you. They said their purpose was the baby's health and nothing more. Coming from a hospital that I have been to before for scans, where they have told me the sex of baby, this seemed quite untrue. This sonographer didn't even try to look as I understand it can be hard to see sometimes. They just told me to clean myself up and get off the bed, then gave is our scan photo which was the worst I've ever seen. You can barely make out what it is. I actually left the hospital feeling very upset and it ruined what should of been a happy day. I am still considering putting in a formal complaint as I can't imagine what I did to deserve such a bad experience. I am now waiting on a private bonding scan because I feel I missed out on enjoying seeing my little one.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Princess Anne Hospital

We are so sorry that your 20 week scan was such a disappointing experience for you and you did not receive all the information you had hoped for.

It is distressing that you left feeling so upset.

This is certainly not how we would want you to feel as this should have been a positive experience and we are so sorry that this was not the case for you or your husband.

Please do not hesitate to contact the Patient Support Services at the hospital on 023 8120 6325 if you would like the opportunity to discuss this further.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Recently read