"Second visit, second terrible experience"

About: The James Cook University Hospital

The first visit was for the birth of my son, the midwives don't seem to have much care for patients even to the point where a midwife left my wife in tears put her coat on and went home.

My 11 month old son was really poorly and admitted on Sunday 12/15 with possible meningitis. As soon as they found out he didn't have meningitis we were basically forgot about. We was left in a room for 5 hours in total and not once did I nurse or doctor come in to give us an update or ask if we needed anything. We were told he needed bloods taken then everyone just disappeared, I was even stood at the reception when I nurse walked straight past me, went into their office and started chatting to another nurse. Their excuse was 'we don't have enough staff'. The attitude of some staff at that hospital on the children's department is terrible, they are miserable and give the impression they couldn't care less.

Take my advice and take your child somewhere else

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from The James Cook University Hospital

Good morning

Thank you for your feedback, regarding the care and treatment you and your family have received from The James Cook University Hospital.

I am sorry you have cause to complain and we would like to investigate this.

I should be grateful if you would contact the Patient, Advice & Liaison Service (PALS) on 01642 854807, to provide us with further information to enable us to investigate the issues you have raised.

Yours sincerely

Barbara Bellamy


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful