"emergency admittance for a day"

About: Queen Elizabeth Hospital (Birmingham)

I appreciate staff willingness to try to help. However there is very poor nurse patient communication. I was not provided with timescales while waiting for medications and discharge letter, which took around 3.5 hours from doctor saying i could go. I was asked for a water sample that was never collected from me. I was asked if i wanted water which when i said yes, never turned up. One nurse did not know what had happened with the previous nurse and i was asked about 6 different times what intravenus meds i had had during the day.

I appreciate demands of the job, however better communication would have helped the situation.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Queen Elizabeth Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent experience at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham.

We are very sorry to hear that we did not communicate well with you; and for the impact this has had on your experience.

We would value the opportunity to talk to you directly. We would like to find out which ward you were treated by so we can share your feedback with the relevant staff who will act on it to improve the experience for future patients. If you are happy to discuss this with us directly please make contact via the Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS). PALS can be contacted by phone 0121 371 3280, by email PALS@uhb.nhs.uk, via the hospital website www.uhb.nhs.uk/pals-form or in person by dropping in between 9am – 5pm (Mon-Fri) to the PALS office located near the Information Desk in the main entrance of the new Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful