"facilities at the Queen Elizabeth University Hospital, Glasgow"

About: Queen Elizabeth University Hospital Glasgow Victoria Infirmary / Accident & Emergency

(as a relative),

I was visiting a relative at the Queen Elizabeth University Hospital in Glasgow tonight. At the main entrance to the hospital there were patients taking shelter at the exit door, which was broken, whilst smoking. I thought all hospitals had a no smoking policy?

I then had to wait 10 minutes on the lift. It would appear that arran lift A was out of order. I was directed to go to lift B. However by the time it arrived there was a queue and the lift was full. I then had to press the button again and once again I was directed to wait for lift B. I had a similar length of wait when leaving.

I also had an additional wait whilst accessing the ward as I had to wait for a staff member to 'buzz' me in.

I have to say that I am disappointed with the facilities at this new super hospital.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Lorna Gray, Patient Experience, Public Involvement Project Manager, NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde

Dear Disappointed visitor,

I am really sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the facilities at the new Hospital – we would love the people of Glasgow to feel proud of such an amazing investment in health for the area, however I take on board your suggestions for where improvements could be made.

With regards to smoking on site, you are right to say that NHSGGC has a Smokefree Policy in buildings and on grounds, and this policy applies to staff, patients and visitors.

Experience to date however illustrates that in general this is an extremely difficult and sensitive situation to manage, particularly with members of the public, because while it is illegal to smoke in the hospital building, it is not illegal within the grounds yet.

We have clear signage displayed throughout the hospital site internally and externally as well as regular patrols requesting that patients and visitors refrain from smoking in the grounds. This however requires the co-operation of those who do smoke in the grounds, and can therefore sometimes have limited success, however we will continue to utilise all communication methods to promote our smokefree policy and grounds message to all staff, patients and visitors.

With regards to the secure entry to wards, I appreciate that this can cause frustration for visitors waiting to see their loved one, however patient safety, privacy and dignity remain our highest priority and need to be assured in a clinical area. All staff try to answer the door as quickly as they can, and I will certainly raise this issue as a reminder to do so.

I have also reported your feedback with regards to the lifts to my Facilities colleagues – any maintenance issues are reported regularly so that they can be rectified as soon as possible, but it is important that we can take a note of any such feedback so that we know if there are any recurring issues.

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, and I hope that your relative is doing well.

Best Wishes,


  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful