"Overall the care is great."

About: St John's Hospital / General Surgery

(as the patient),

Had a minor procedure at St John's Hospital Day Surgery and yet again I enjoyed the best of care except on this occasion there were three minor instances when things could of been better.

Firstly: Although it was on my admission form call it what you will. Why is it that in the 21st century Lothian NHS still requires the medical staff to fill in reams of paper forms when most of this information could be included in the TRAK IT system first installed some years ago and still, I believe, under utilised and having issues.

Back to my issue, I cannot swallow solid food so liquid substitute is provide and although this was noted it never appeared so that was 24 hours without any food. Not a killer but should not happen.

Secondly: I was issued non soluble paracetamol to bring home by the same nurse who provided me with two soluble tablets prior to my op. Again not major but should not happen when issuing medicines.

Thirdly: My surgeon could not see me prior to discharge which is usual instead I saw a registrar who was there at my operation. I got the distinct impression that the registrar had other places to be as their explanation was brief and answers to my questions borderline terse. The sort of attitude I have come to expect from some consultants who's 'bedside manner' leaves a lot to be desired. And the registrar was young which is both strange and unusual as I would have thought that the younger Dr's have not become cynical with working conditions and frustrations therein.

But I have to single out a student nurse who attitude and dedication to her job was exemplary and it pained me that Lothian NHS have these wonderful people who it seems to me are not appreciated and seem over worked given the severe staff shortages I have experienced mainly at the Western General. But she was everything a patient is looking for in a nurse, caring, happy, efficient, professional with the ability and time to answer patient questions. Unfortunately the last bit is all too rare.

More about:
Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Jeannette Morrison, Head of Patient Experience, NHS Lothian

Dear MrFraggle

Thank you for your recent posting and I hope you are recovering well from your recent minor procedure in the Day Surgery Unit at St John's.

I was sorry to read that you had some difficulty with your feeding regime and that you were not provided with the liquid food, please accept my apologies for this and you are right to say that in this day this should not have happened. I was also sorry to hear that you were not provided consistently with soluble paracetamol.

I have passed on your comments to the clinical team at St John's and l am sure like me they will be delighted to hear your feedback concerning the student nurse who cared for you in the Unit.

I hope you are continuing to recover and best wishes for the festive period.

Kind regards


  • MrFraggle doesn't think this response is helpful
    {{helpful}} other {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} think it is helpful