"Fab facilities!"

About: The Royal Victoria Infirmary

I gave birth to my first child at the RVI, as I had been recommended here by my friend and a few others had mentioned the fab services here.

When i came into the hospital in labour the midwife who greeted me couldnt have been nicer and calmed me down after examining me as i was getting really nervous and panicky. After the midwife left i was handed over to another midwife, Im not going to mention any names but i felt i couldnt get on with them, the midwife kept looking at me funny and didnt have much to say to me at all, i know everyone has off days but that should definitely not affect patient care.

My labour in the birthing centre came to an end and i was took up onto the ward for failure to progress.

I was handed over to a fantastic midwife who couldnt have been more sympathetic and nice. The midwife made me feel so at ease and they had such a lovely character! They delivered my little boy after a long and tiring 38 hour labour and i was over the moon they were my midwife, fab person.

But.....back to the postnatal ward i went, heres where i feel like i failed to bond with my son at first. A rather grumpy maternity assistant came up and said my little boy looked hungry so i tried my best to get him to latch, the maternity assistant never said one word and just watched me sttruggle for a little then said he will go on when hes ready. Didnt show me or explain how to position my baby or how to express...nothing. They just walked off and left me to it. I buzzed them back and they said they werent allowed to intervene, thats fine but i only needed a bit of help to guide and position. So they asked if they could take my little boy off to bottle feed him while i went for a wee to measure, i was gutted but felt i had no choice or he would go hungry!

I feel like it could have been so much better in the post natal ward if the assistant would have just helped me as its crucial in this early moments to establish a bond!

Otherwise a great service and fab facilities.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from The Royal Victoria Infirmary

Firstly may we offer our congratulations to you on the birth of your son. Thank you so much for taking time to provide us with this valuable feedback on our Maternity Services at RVI, this is much appreciated acknowledging how very busy first time mums are!

It is apparent that overall you were very satisfied with the staff in the maternity unit at the Royal Victoria Infirmary and the care provided to you, however there are elements of care provided, which fell below the high standards we endeavour to deliver and we are sorry to be informed that one of the midwives caring for you did not provide you with the level of support you required.

We are also sorry to be informed that you do not appear to have been appropriately advised or supported by a health care assistant regarding your baby’s feeding needs. We wish to apologise if this has in any way impacted on your experience.

If you wish to provide us with further details, these matters can be dealt with more directly with the staff concerned. If this is something you wish to do please contact Elaine Blair, Head of Midwifery on 0191 2825666 who will be happy to discuss this with you further.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful