About: Leighton Hospital

My disabled son (10 months) was recently in this hospital but oh my word! Dirty, nurses too busy gossiping to see to my son, he was given 3 month out of date baby food jar after asking several times for food for him when we'd been in all day, when he vomit no one cleaned it up and not a single person washed or gelled their hands coming in or leaving the room! These are just a few issues, I could write a book on how bad it was!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Leighton Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on NHS choices. The staff on the Child and Adolescent Unit work extremely hard to look after patients through a busy winter to ensure all patients and parents receive a quality service. I am very sorry that you do not feel you and your son received such a service. There are alco-gel stations located around the ward and staff are encouraged to use these appropriately and wash their hands in accordance with policy.

This is audited regularly to ensure all clinical staff comply. I apologise that you were given an out of date jar of baby food. This should not have happened as stocks are regularly checked and rotated. I can assure you that I will look into the issues you have described. I would be more than happy to meet with you to discuss your other concerns or to speak with you should you have reason for another visit to the unit.

If you would like to meet with me then please contact the customer care team on 01270 273357 and they will be happy to help arrange a meeting. Best wishes Andrea Collins, Unit Manager

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful