"No professional care"

About: Heartlands Hospital

Brought my mum to the a&e at 11:50pm waiting til 1:17am and still not seen but could see doctors at the reception laughing and gossiping, we went up twice to ask how long they said you have to wait til your name is called out, at the reception after i checked my mum in there was police escourt with a patient he got checked before us and while one doctor was going in to check the escorted patient one other doctor wanted to follow another doctor in just to know what was happening with the escourted patient, completely unprofessional. All you can see is doctors doing nothing just sitting and gossiping and laughing and there is only max of 3 patients at the waiting area and there is 5 doctors. Ridiculous!!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Marie Helebert, Patient Services Officer, Patient Services, Heart of England Foundation Trust

Dear Mahrul Bisa

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent experience when you attended the Emergency Department at Heartlands Hospital with your mother.

I am sorry that you have concerns and felt that you were waiting a long time to be seen, and that despite arriving after you and your mother, a police escorted patient was taken through and seen before your mother.

I appreciate your frustration but please be assured that all patients are seen on a clinical need basis rather than an arrival time. All patients are initially seen by a triage nurse who completes an initial assessment, observations are taken and then the patient may be clinically prioritised to see a doctor more urgently on the basis of that assessment. Sometimes, the description of the presenting problem can also mean that a patient needs to be clinically assessed by a doctor immediately, even though they may appear to be walking and talking. It is difficult to comment about other patients due to confidentiality but there may also have been a safety issue to other patients as the reason why the person you observed was taken straight to a cubicle. It is very difficult and often a cause of great frustration and concern to others observing events such as this but the Senior Nurse and all of the Emergency Department staff have a duty to ensure the safety of all patients and visitors in the department.

So that I can look into your concerns more specifically, can I please ask you to contact me at yur convenience so that I can obtain some more information regarding your mother? I can be contacted either by email: marie.helebert@nhs.net or by telephone on 0121 424 0808.

I hope this is acceptable and I look forward to hearing from you. Once again thank you for your post, patient experience is extremely important to us.

Kind regards

Marie Helebert

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful