"Left waiting for hours"

I arrived this morning for my pre-assessment and booked in with the desk at 09:30. At 10:30 I spoke to a passing nurse to ask if there was any delay. They replied that everyone was busy and carried on walking without seeking any information. I felt both angry and very uncomfortable as I am on anxiety medication anyway, and i find it difficult to be in these kind of situations. After over two hours I went back to reception and handed over the required specimens that I had taken for the assessment and explained to them that this was as long as I could wait due to other appointments that I had to attend. The receptionist replied "haven't they called you yet?" (obviously not). I was offered no apology or explanation as to the situation on their part.

This is the 3rd time in 4 visits that this has happened, all for periods over 2 hours. I sat waiting in a late clinic of the Consultant's only for them to then to leave. The nurses told me that the Consultant had to be urgently called away and that they would contact me to arrange another appointment - this took several months to get back in.

On my return I booked in and sat in the reception area, again for a few hours before speaking to the desk. A different person on the desk told me that the Consultant wasn't at the hospital that day and that they had to cancel all of their appointments. I was told that they had rang my home that morning and left a message (they had done this). However I was at work that day but they did have my mobile number. It also does not explain why I was booked in and left. Again there was no explanation as to why this error was made and still no apology given.

I do not know where to go to resolve this poor organisation and my stress levels and conditions just amplify for each consequent visit. I still have no idea if my procedure can go ahead in January or what I should do.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Rowley Hall Hospital

Dear Patient

Thank you very much for providing your very valuable feedback.

I am very sorry you have endured this experience at Woodthorpe Hospital,

I will investigate all of the points you have raised to ensure we learn by them and improve the service and care we provide. I would however wish to deal with this as a formal complaint and provide you with a written apology and a full and detailed explanation. To enable me to do this I would be really grateful if you could give me a call and share with me your personal details.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Mark Lacey

General Manager

Tel 07595987401

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful