"In my first of two visits for ..."

About: Kettering General Hospital

(as the patient),

What I liked

In my first of two visits for this problem i was treated very well, the SAU which i was met very quickly by a health care assistant who couldn't have been more help. i was moved round to a ward about 12 hours later and my treatment was very good on Deene A also.

What could be improved

When i was in A and E there was a dirty swab on the floor, the womens toilets had no paper and the floor was all wet, also when i went up to the SAU for my second time in hospital there was a dirty floor next to my bed and there was the cap off the thermomenter whcih a HCA just flicked onto the shelf behind me and it still remains there now.

Anything else?

i was really frightened to go into hospital with such a bad pain and i felt embarassed by the nurses, who made everything into a burden, they were reluctant to give me pain relief and they didnt give me and water.

the doctors and the nurses didnt communicate with each other as i was told by a doctor that he would come and review me in an hour and he neer came, when i asked the nurse about this she said that he didnt need to come as she had spoken to him, it would have been nice to have been told.

also the nurses told my relatives information before they had told me, which i am sure is a breach of confidentiality!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Kettering General Hospital

Thank you for the comments that you have made surrounding your experience whilst an in-patient at Kettering General Hospital. We acknowledge and welcome all of your comments and have investigated the issues you have raised.

We are pleased that your first experience of Kettering General Hospital – in particular Deene A and on the Surgical Assessment Unit (SAU) - was a positive one, however, it is clear that your second visit was less than acceptable.

We have carried out detailed inspections and can assure you that there are no thermometer caps lying around on the SAU and that there is a container where these should be collected. We are sorry that the member of staff did not use the correct procedure during your stay with us. The importance of the correct procedure will be re-iterated to all staff.

We have also carried out inspections of the floor areas and would seek to re-assure you that they are at the high level of cleanliness that we expect. We maintain an extremely high focus on cleanliness and as such there are regimented cleaning routines and schedules and the areas are audited on a regular basis, however the issues that you have raised including the lack of toilet paper and a dirty swab on the floor demonstrates that we did not reach the standards which we would aim to maintain. These issues have been raised with the Head of Facilities to ensure that they are addressed.

We are sorry that your experience was frightening, embarrassing and that nursing staff made everything appear to be a burden and that you felt communications were poor. We pride ourselves on providing a high standard of care, informative and respectful service to all of our patients and are very concerned that on this occasion you did not experience this. We have bought these comments to the attention of staff to ensure that our standards are maintained and such experiences do not recur.

You have raised specific issues surrounding doctor/nurse communications; a potential breach in confidentiality and a reluctance to give you pain relief and water. You will appreciate that we would need to address these issues in more detail in order to investigate them further and provide you with the response you deserve. Therefore, if you would like to contact me directly and confidentially l would be very happy to establish the facts of your particular case and review this.

Finally, on behalf of the Trust l would like to offer my sincere apologies that the service was not of the standard we would expect, thank you for taking the time to make your comments on NHS Choices.

Gary Cockayne

Assistant Director of Operations

Surgery and Surgical Specialties

01536 491491

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful