"My son attended your hospital for surgery"

I am absolutely appalled with the treatment my son and I was given the receptionist was very rude and needs to learn some people skills. We arrived at hospital at 10:40 as my sons appointment time was 11 o'clock we had no communication with staff apart from when we first got there. I approached staff 3 times to ask what time Callum would be seen to which their reply was there were 2 people in front of him that was at 1pm I then asked again at 3:30 what was happening to again be told there was still 2 in front of him. There was no communication what so ever I tried to explain why we were anxious as my father went in for key hole surgery but unfortunately never regained consciousness. This has a huge impact on myself with my mental health and my son in theses situations eventually Callum was taken through from the waiting room around 3:45. They rang at 5 to inform me my son was back from theatre and awake no more no less. I really feel we were mistreated as we wasn't private paying patients and god did they make us feel that way if I had to attend this place again I would refuse I would prefer to wait for a NHS hospital . I can't say the theatre staff are involved in this feedback as I didn't see any of them . I'm absolutely disgusted with it all from arriving at 11oclock to leaving at 7 o'clock . I know our personal situation the staff wasn't aware of that but to be treated the way we was even without knowing our background disgusts me . What I'm saying is treat people with the respect they deserve instead of making them feel below you.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Oaklands Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to comment on NHS Choices. I am very disappointed to hear about your experience and please accept my apologies for the lack of communication regarding your son's wait for theatre - this can be a distressing time for anyone and I appreciate it was even more so for yourselves. Please be assured that this is not a typical situation and that we do not operate a two tier service differentiating care between our private and NHS patients. I am looking into the issues you have highlighted as a matter of urgency. If you want to discuss anything further directly with us, please do not hesitate to contact our hospital's Matron, Rhona Davis or myself.

Helen Rocca

General Manager - Oaklands Hospital

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful