You're offline
You're back online! Refresh the page
The site has been updated! Refresh the page

"My experience after a fall"

About: Arran War Memorial Hospital Cooriedoon Care Home Crosshouse Hospital Montrose House North Ayrshire Council - Three Towns, North Coast and Arran

(as a service user),

I’ve used a lot of different services this year after I had a fall and broke my hip.

I had surgery in Crosshouse and shortly afterwards was transferred to Arran War Memorial. The care in both hospitals was fantastic.

I then spent a short time in Montrose house for respite. This was also fantastic. The care home is in new premises which makes a tremendous difference. It’s a modern place with high standards of cleanliness.

I then moved to Cooriedoon. I would like to say more about this service as I feel there are some areas for improvement. The food was very small portions and the quality was not good; I think it would be good to look into this. The staff were caring. I had also been told by my physiotherapist that I could walk with 1 stick but the care home wouldn’t allow this because they were scared I would fall and wanted me to use 2 sticks. I didn’t agree with this. I didn't think that it was what was best for me.

I am now managing well at home. I’m too nervous to use the shower in case I fall but everything else is fine. I have a support worker coming once a week to help with a few things and I’ve also started going to the day centre.


Response from Sandra Butler, Manager, Cooriedoon Care Home We have made a change

Dear Arran123,

First of all, thank you for posting your story on Care Opinion. We really appreciate hearing about your experience at Cooriedoon.

We were aware that some residents expressed that they would like the menus to be looked at. Once we heard this, we had a full meeting with all our residents, Chef, Matron & myself and we created new menus. Residents are now saying that they are enjoying their meals, so we’re pleased that this situation has been resolved to everyone's enjoyment.

We are disappointed and sorry that you felt that your best interests were not being met in your re-ablement whilst at Cooriedoon. We work closely with physiotherapists to an agreed plan. For example, part of a plan may be that once the person is confident using two sticks, they can then move on by practicing with 1 stick with staff supervision, but continue with 2 sticks without staff supervision. It sounds like it could be that you found that last phase of your re-ablement frustrating, as you may have felt at the time confident just with the 1 stick, but had to use two when staff were not with you. However, I hope that you feel assured that staff were just following the plan that was agreed with you and the physio.

We really appreciate that you found the staff caring, as that’s so important to us. I’m glad that you are now managing well at home, getting some help and hope that you are enjoying the day centre.

Thanks again for your feedback.


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Response from Eunice Goodwin, Patient Feedback Manager for NHS Ayrshire and Arran, Quality Improvement and Governance Team, NHS Ayrshire and Arran

picture of Eunice Goodwin

Dear Arran123,

Oh, I am so sorry you had such a bad fall and broke your hip but it is great to hear that you are recovering well. Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us your kind words about your experience in Crosshouse and Arran War Memorial. I will pass your story on to the teams so they know how fantastic your care was.

Take care and best wishes,


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Response from Tony Fisher, Team Manager, North Ayrshire Council

picture of Tony Fisher

Dear arran 123

Many thanks for taking the time to get in touch about the services you have been using.

In terms of the care at home service that you are receiving once a week, I hope that continues to address your needs but I would be more than happy to have that looked at again on your behalf especially if you are needing assistance with the shower?

Please contact me on 01294 31022 and I will make the arrangements required for you to be visited by one of the Arran staff to discuss the services that are in place.

Once again, many thanks for getting in touch.

Best Wishes

Anthony Fisher

Team Manager

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Response from Isobel McKenna, Team Manager, North Ayrshire Council

Dear arran 123,

Thank you for taking time to share your positive experience whilst at Montrose House.

Isobel McKenna

Unit Manager

Montrose House

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful