"Cancellation leading to stress"

About: St James's University Hospital

My husband was referred in August 2015 after being told by an optician that he has a definite growth on his iris. Since that time I have been extremely anxious and stressed thinking the worst. His appointment was not until Tuesday 1st December so we were actually relived to be getting some answers finally only to receive a letter today stating that the appointment has been cancelled and they would write again to send a new one. I am really anxious and stressed now and worrying about the delay. I feel this isn't a good start. I am sure staff are extremely helpful once you actually get an appointment. What should we do to speed up this process? Any help appreciated

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Shannon Dunford, PALS Officer, Patient Experience, PALS, Leeds Teaching Hospitals

Dear Anonymous

Thank you for taking the time to write to us.

I am very sorry to read about your concerns regarding your husband's appointment.

Unfortunately there is not enough information in your post to allow us to look into the concerns you have raised therefore I ask that you contact our Trust’s Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS). This will also allow us look into your concerns more thoroughly and also to see what lessons we can learn from your experience.

Please call our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 0113 206 6261 or alternatively email patientexperience.leedsth@nhs.net

Kind regards


Senior Nurse

Patient Experience

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful