"Disappointed in doctors and nurses we trust"

About: North Middlesex Hospital

I feel like many staff members have no passion for their jobs anymore, instead I feel like the the members of staff are just trying to get through their shifts and get rid of as much people as possible without full diagnoses,so they can have an easier day. People like me have to return home still vomiting and still with a high tempreture. I am so disappointed and I will never return to this hospital again. When you are informing the doctor of your symptoms and they are laughing and telling you you are young it will be okay, this makes an individual start to really question what is going on. You as the NHS need to be very careful who you employ as staff, because it is wrong to be treated like an animal. When people go to the hospital they are seeking for help. The minimum wait for accident and emergency is 4-5hrs I was waiting for 9 hrs. To hear a doctor tell me my own symptoms and how I feel, I had been vomiting for 4 hours not once did any doctor give me medication or attention. Sort this out, although many people think healthcare is free our taxes go into this and it's really really bad. The person I was with approached a nurse to ask if I could have some sick tablets to stop my vomiting, they replied my shift is over go ask reception.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from North Middlesex Hospital

Thank you for your feedback.

I am sorry that you had a long wait to see the doctor, however we have been experiencing very high volumes of attendances and some very ill patients.

All patients are triaged on arrival, the most urgent patients being seen and treated as priority. Many of the patients arrive by ambulance which increases the waiting time for those patients with less serious conditions. I apologise for the manner in which our staff communicated with you and that your experience was poor. In future, please note that patients have the right to discuss their concerns with the doctor for example and if you do not agree with the diagnosis. Also please note that our nurses are not allowed to prescribe medication as this has to be done by a doctor and they can only give medication if it has been prescribed.

Instead of the nurse directing you to reception, you should have been to speak to the doctor who saw you.

I am the A&E service manager, gcarter-sandy@nhs.net and I will share your comments with the team.

Please email me if you would like to discuss in more detail.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful