About: Burnley General Hospital

I had, for the 3rd time running an awful experience when in Burnley for surgery simply because of the anaesthetists. I don't want to share the details on here but I am so angry and disappointed that this has happened again. My surgeon is brilliant but I have lost confidence in the anaesthetists and will not return for further treatment under them. All I can suggest is be very assertive with them and demand to know what pain relief will be provided before you wake from your general anaesthetic. If you are concerned ask to speak to a senior.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Burnley General Hospital

Thank you for your feedback regarding your surgery at Burnley General Hospital and for taking the time to do so.

We are very sorry that you had such a negative experience.

If you would like to talk through your admission with one of our Patient Experience team so we can further understand what made this such a negative experience we would welcome this, so that we can try to improve things for every patient visiting our hospitals and services.

You can either contact me (Melissa Almond) on 01254 734087 or email me on Melissa.almond@elht.nhs.uk

If you prefer you can discuss further any concerns you may have about our services with our East Lancashire Hospitals Trust Customer Relations team on 01254 733700 or complaints@elht.nhs.uk who can advise you of your options in raising these concerns further.

If you would like to share your experience in confidence with an independent organisation please contact Healthwatch BwD on 01254 504985 or info@healthwatchblackburnwithdarwen.co.uk

Thank you again for commenting.

Melissa Almond, Patient Experience Facilitator

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful