"Concerns about care on Ward 2"

About: Good Hope Hospital / General surgery

(as the patient),

I had surgery and a recent stay on ward 2 at Good Hope Hospital. I have had previous time as an inpatient on this ward and received good care but not this time.

I had surgery and had spent six hours in the operating theatre. I was in a side room but had no sleep as I was regularly checked through the night and given different medications which was fine.

The problem started the next morning. I needed to get up to go to the toilet I was in a lot of discomfort and still felt woozy from the anaesthetic and drugs I also had a drain in. I asked one of the nurses if the toilet was far, I was told "no it's not far" but wasn't told exactly where it was I managed to get up and find it with the help of a fellow patient. After making my way back to the room and seeing my consultant I was advised that I needed to have a shower and remove the dressings.

I waited for the nurse to come back as I had asked for a towel I then had to ask twice more before someone gave me a towel and showed me where the shower was. I asked if there was a chair to sit on as I had felt unwell in the shower after my last operation. I was given a chair then left alone to shower.

Whilst trying to remove the dressings on my own I began to feel sick and faint so pressed the buzzer as I thought I was going to fall to the floor. Nobody came and the buzzer had been sounding for almost 10 minutes before anyone came to check I was ok. Three members of staff then came and I explained I felt unwell and nobody came when I pressed for help and I needed help trying to get the dressings off. The one nurse then pulled the dressing off my back aggressively without warning. I managed to get the rest of the dressings off with the help of a health care assistant who then assisted me back to my bed.

I was told that the named nurse would be with me shortly to do my dressings. I then had to wait for an hour for the named nurse to come.

I feel it is totally unacceptable to not have any member of staff to check on a patient in the shower when the buzzer has been pressed and to have been left there for almost 10 minutes. There were plenty of staff about so I don't think it was a staffing issue.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Marie Helebert, Patient Services Officer, Patient Services, Heart of England Foundation Trust

Dear Tomi T

Thank you for your feedback regarding Ward 2 at Good Hope Hospital.

I am sorry that you had a less than positive experience during this admission, given that you have been cared for on Ward 2 for previous surgeries with no issues and felt that you recieved good care on those occasions.

I would very much like to look into this in more detail but would need some more information from you to enable me to do this appropriately, although I will forward your initial feedback to the Ward Manager and Matron so that they are aware.

it would be most appreciated if you could contact me at your convenience, either by telephone on: 0121 424 0808 or by email: marie.helebert@heartofengland.nhs.uk

I hope this is acceptable and I look forward to hearing from you.

Kindest regards

Marie Helebert

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Update posted by Tomi T (the patient)

I did actually phone the complaints department when I was discharged home with concerns about the treatment received. I was asked if I wanted to make a formal complaint which I didn't but felt it was important that members of staff on duty that day were made aware of their actions and how it affects patient care. I was advised that there would be an investigation and that all staff concerned would be spoken to so they could reflect and learn from the situation.