About: Lister Hospital

Now been in this hospital 4 times in two weeks twice into A&E and twice on the following days for further tests and clinics and can honestly say it is the worst hospital I have ever had the misfortune to have to visit! I have yet to have a good experience and have yet to be in the hospital for less then 5 hours even when we've been called back for a specific appointment! Both times to A&E we waited in excess of 8 hours and during treatment were sat in what they call priority seating with other patients clearly distressed also sitting there for hours. We have been bounced from department to department during our follow up visits. On one visit we were sent down to radiology for a scan that had to be done before 4pm only to be told there were no appointments, we were then sent back to the original department to be told by that department they had to do it before 4pm and to go back to radiology that the sister in TAI was going to escalate it! So back to radiology we go and are told well we can't do it let us take a number and go and have a coffee or something!

After 8 hours in A&E yesterday we've been called in to Ambulatory care today for an appointment at 12pm and a chest scan at 1pm well it's now 16:15 and we're still sat here considering just walking out! And that's after another wild goose chase being sent from ambulatory care to radiology to lister scanning to urgent care scanning to radiology back to urgent care scanning!

In short this hospital is poorly managed, dis functional with absolutely no coordination or communication between departments!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Lister Hospital

Thank you for getting in touch and posting these comments, which we note are the same as the review you placed on our Facebook page the other day.

We wonder if you saw our reply that we gave to you, encouraging you to get in contact so that we can get these very important matters followed up for you.

If this is something that you would like us to do, please just email us at generalenquiries.enh-tr@nhs.net and we can things started.

Whilst we can't undo what's happened already, it would be good for us to listen to your concerns first hand so that we can pick up things that can be fixed going forward.

We hope that you give us that chance.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful