About: Stepping Hill Hospital

Be prepared for a three hour wait. A wait is always fine when you are informed of a delay and when approximately you may be seen.

A wait is fine if there is access to water or food (coffee would be lovely).

A wait is fine if the staff are pleasant.

we waited for three hours to see a doctor with no explanation for the delay, without access to food or water and the initial rudeness of the reception staff was unbelievable.

I am most usually a very tolerant, understanding person but today took the biscuit.

Given a choice I would not come here again.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Stepping Hill Hospital

Thank you for providing your feedback as this helps us identify areas where improvements can be made to the services we offer.

I am sorry to hear that you had a three hour wait when you attended the opthalmology clinic and that the staff were rude.

There is a small outlet where drinks and snacks can be purchaed in the outpatient department and staff have been reminded to advise patients of this.

Staff have also been reminded to remain courteous and advise patients of delays when these are to be encountered.

Kind regards

Patient Experience Manager

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful