"Problems with administration but I cannot fault the treatment"

About: Nottingham NHS Treatment Centre(Nations Healthcare) / CT scans

(as the patient),

First the negative, I found the administration side of things appalling. I went for my 1st appointment at 4.45pm at the treatment centre which is apparently open until 7pm. I needed a scan to assess whether I was suitable for the procedure but the scan lady finished at 5.50pm so I couldn’t have one. I was told I would receive a date in the post. By the start of the next month I rang as I hadn’t heard anything and was told that someone would contact me. By September I hadn’t heard so I rang again. No one seemed to know anything. Eventually someone rang back and said they will book me on for the surgery under local anaesthetic but at my first appointment I had requested a general anaesthetic. I was worried as I knew someone who had the procedure and said it was very unpleasant. She said this was fine and would call me back with a scan date and operation date. By almost the end of September I heard nothing, so mentioned it to a client of mine who works there and it is thanks to her that I have now had the procedure. It seems to me that the communication failed and I found it very irritating that I had to constantly chase this and was never rang back when I was told I would be on all but one occasion by a very friendly nurse. On a positive note, I cannot find fault with the staff or facilities on the day. It was very efficient and I was kept informed at every stage. My stay was incredibly friendly and was made very relaxing. The nursing staff, anaesthetist and surgeon (Mr Martin Powell) were fantastic. The set up for day surgery is brilliant and I was given a locker for belongings. I was told which time slot my surgery was, so I wasn’t sat around waiting and wondering. I had a reclining chair and TV in the cubicle, so a very pleasant experience. I found the cleanliness to be superb and was given a choice of sandwiches after my operation. Totally professional from all involved on the day. I arrived at 7.45am and was home by 12.10pm, brilliant!! PS. I was also rang on the following day to see how I was.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Jane Upton, Communications and Engagement Manager, Principia

Thank you for this feedback. I am sorry that you had such a poor experience of the administration system and that you had to go to so much effort to get the treatment you needed.

It is great that you had such a positive stay in the Treatment Centre and I hope you are feeling well.

Best wishes

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful