"left in pain & not listened to"

About: Russells Hall Hospital

I gave birth to my 2nd child in july 2015. I was almost 2 weeks overdue but went into labour a few days before my planned induction. Upon arriving to the hospital my contractions were very painful and getting worse. I had rang triage and they had told me to come in. We were left in a waiting room for what felt like an eternity before being took into a triage room. I was worried as I hadnt felt the baby move for a while so i sent my partner to inform the midwife who completely disregarded tbe information. I was then taken to be monitored and examined and was told i was only 3cm so can go jome despite begging them to give me pain relief. I then vomitted due to the severity of the pain and was offered oral co-codamol. Then i was re-examined and told that i was now 4cm 45 mintes later so was transferred to delivery suite. I had made it clear in my birth plan i wanted an epidural. I requested this immediately however was told there was only 1 anaethetist and that they were in theatre. I had gas and air and pethedine but to no avail. Eventually the anaethetist came and began to prepare to insert my epidural and as they were doing so the emergency alarm sounded and ge said i might have to go so you may not be able to have the epidural. I was in so much pain it was unbearable and i was approximately 6-7cm by this point. As it happened the anaethetist was not required and i had my epidural and it was fine after that in terms of pain relief. My daughter had meconium so was in distress however when she was born she was not suctioned and both me and my daughter were left soiled. I gave birth at 8.05am and at 2pm my daughter began to vomit mucus and sounded like she was choking on it. I continually mentioned this to the midwives but they just said its normal. I was transferred to the post nstal ward and my daughter continued to vomit throughout the night and next morning and it seemed to be getting worse. I explained my concerns to several midwives but they ignored me. I then told the nurse who came round to do the red book checks and they were concerned when i showed them the green vomit they said we need to make sure this isnt bile as your daughter may have an obstruction so i will get the dr to see her. Then she came out in a rash i told a midwife who said it was just heat rash and they would monitor it but they never did. Then when tbe dr came they rushed my daughter to neonatal straight away thinking that she may have a twisted bowel or bowel obstruction and meningitis. It was horrific. I cannot believe the midwives failed to listen or act upon my concerns. My daughter was transferred to BCH & thankfully all clear but she did have an infection. The staff on neonatal ward and the drs i cannot thank enough and the care we received from them was excellent i cannot fault that. In order to resolve this you need more aneasthatists who can do epidurals and also more midwives. The midwife on labour ward had to be taken from another department. Take concerns serious!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Russells Hall Hospital

Thank you, Lisa, for taking the time to give us feedback about your experience of our Maternity Unit. We always aim to offer the highest standards of care to all our new mums and so we are very sorry that we fell short of those standards during what must have been a difficult time for you.

We are very concerned by some of the comments you have made and would welcome the opportunity to look into the issues you have raised. However, it is difficult to comment on your specific case without your details and reviewing your medical notes. If you would like us to do this, please contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on free phone 0800 073 0510.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful