"Very rude reception staff"

About: Wharfedale Hospital

I phones the walk in centre to find what time they closed as I live 8 miles away. The reception staff were ruse and arrogant. They told me that I needed to phone for an appointment as I needed to see a doctor and couldn't walk in.

Had to phone 111 again and wait even longer

More about:

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Shannon Dunford, PALS Officer, Patient Experience, PALS, Leeds Teaching Hospitals

Dear Anonymous

Thank you for taking the time to write to us.

I am very sorry to read that you found the reception staff so unhelpful when you contacted Wharfedale Hospital.

Unfortunately there is not enough information in your post to allow us to look into the matters you have raised thoroughly therefore I would ask that you contact our Trust’s Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS).

This would also allow us look into the matters you have raised more thoroughly and also to see what lessons we could learn from your experience.

Please call our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 0113 206 6261 or alternatively email patientexperience.leedsth@nhs.net

Kind regards


Senior Nurse

Patient Experience

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful