"Lack of communication about waiting times in A&E department"

About: Monklands District General Hospital / Emergency department

(as the patient),

I attended A&E recently about 9:30 in the evening.

I was triaged within an hour and then waited a further 2 and a half hours in the waiting room. All this is to be expected in a busy department.

However I was then taken into a small side room and left sitting for a further hour and a half. When I approached a member of staff to ask what was happening I was told "people can wait up to 8 hours to be seen".

Whilst I totally appreciate this, I think staff should at least communicate with patients, even if it's to pop their head round the door and apologise for the delay, or to tell patients the department is particularly busy.

I waited another 30 minutes before leaving the department. I had to inform the receptionist at the front door as the reception area in the department was deserted.

I am aware there were emergencies admitted to the department that night and completely understand that they are prioritised as they should be. I have no problem with this.

I believe that communication is paramount and would relieve anxiety and frustration in the department.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Margaret Barbour, Service Manager, Emergency & Medicine Directorate, Monklands Hospital, NHS Lanarkshire

picture of Margaret Barbour

Dear KM83

Thank you for taking the time to post your Patient Opinion. I was concerned to read of you experience within Monklands Accident and Emergency Department and I'm very sorry that it was not a more positive one. This is not the service we aspire to deliver at Monklands Hospital. I am disappointed that a member of staff informed you that patient can wait up to 8 hours as this is a rare occurrence. I fully agree communication is paramount to relieving anxiety and frustrations. Your experience will be discussed and shared with the nursing and medical staff to ensure we learn from your feedback.

With Best wishes

Margaret Barbour

  • KM83 thinks this response is helpful
    {{helpful-1}} other {{helpful-1 == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} so too

Response from Ruth Thompson, Chief of Nursing Services, Monklands Hospital, NHS Lanarkshire

picture of Ruth Thompson

Dear KM83

Thank you for taking the time to post your Patient Opinion of the Emergency Dept. at Monklands Hospital. I appreciate this was a far from positive and satisfactory experience and certainly not the service we aspire to deliver to our patients.

I am disappointed that you were advised "people can wait up to 8 hours", as this is a very rare occurrence at Monklands Hospital. Staff are encouraged to keep patients informed of any delays. As Margaret as indicated your experience will be shared with the Departmental Team.

However, I am more concerned that you left without being reviewed and would strongly urge you to contact your GP.

Kind regards


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Update posted by KM83 (the patient)

Thank you for your reply. I phoned my optician the next morning and was seen within an hour. Therefore the complaint I presented with was addressed appropriately.