"Terrible service"

About: Royal Hallamshire Hospital

I went to the Jessop Wing for what was supposed to be a glucose blood test and for the anomaly scan. I arrived early and had to wait over 45 minutes to be seen initially.

I had expected a bit of a wait but this was just the start of the terrible organisation and communication I was about to witness on my visit. I took a seat to wait for my next appointment which was also late. I was then told I could go home but informed the Nurse that I was supposed to have a scan. After nearly an hour of being told to go and speak to several people, I was informed that my appointment had been given to someone else whilst I waited for my turn in the waiting room closest to the scan desk. I was further disappointed when the incredibly helpful receptionist on the scan desk (who ended up being the only one to help me instead of passing me onto someone else) informed me about what all their supervisors had said, none of which could take a minute out of their appointments to explain to me why this had happened. I had been waiting by this point for over four hours and will now have to pay another set of petrol and parking fees and take another day off work so that the NHS can correct their error. Having a first baby is definitely stressful enough, but I never expected the NHS to add to it.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Deborah Hopkinson, Patient Experience Co-ordinator, Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

I am so sorry to hear of your poor experience. I can appreciate how distressful and also inconvenient this was for you.

I have escalated your concerns to the senior managers within the Jessop Unit so that they are aware of what has happened. However, if you wish for them to respond to you personally please can you contact our Patient Services Team to provide them with your personal details. The Team can be contacted on telephone number 0114 271 2400 or by emailing pst@sth.nhs.uk

Best wishes with your pregnancy.

I do hope that your future contacts with the Unit will be more indicative of the care that we wish to offer.

Kind regards.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Deborah Hopkinson, Patient Experience Co-ordinator, Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Response from the Jessop Unit

Congratulations on your pregnancy.

We are very sorry to hear about your recent negative experience from our antenatal services at the Jessop Wing. Please accept our apologies as the care you experienced did not meet the high standards we strive to achieve and which you had a right to expect.

Your comments are all valid points and have been escalated to the Site Ultrasound Manager plus the Matron of Antenatal Services for further investigation.

In order to offer you reassurance we would very much like to respond to you personally to explain the reasons behind the concerns you have raised. If this is something you feel would help then please do not hesitate to contact the Patient Service Team by telephoning 0114 271 2400 or emailing them at pst@sth.nhs.uk and they will be pleased to assist.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful