"Waiting 4 days to be induced so far."

About: St James's University Hospital

Was sent as an emergency to St James Maternity Assessment Centre by my community Midwife at 38 wks because of high blood pressure. Was told to insist I was induced (already had an induction date for a week later due to this, poorly controlled epilepsy and other serious health problems).

Got there only to be constantly fobbed off by all the consultants, despite one of them days earlier offering me an induction date of my choosing. Apparently even tho my blood pressure had increased they were too busy to treat me.

I had to insist I was admitted. So far, while on induction ward I have been told I'll just have to sit and wait. If someone comes in needing delivery suite then tough.

The ward I'm on is dirty (there's old blood on the floor from previous patients next to my bed).

I've been told I'll be given a time/ date for induction while I have relatives visiting, as soon as they leave excuses are given .

I was spoken down to and rudely to by a consultant and told if I didn't like it go to a different hospital.

They've missed doses of my medication.. I'm honestly dreading giving birth here.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Shannon Dunford, PALS Officer, Patient Experience, PALS, Leeds Teaching Hospitals

Dear Anonymous

Thank you for taking the time to write to us.

I am very sorry to read that you feel you had such a poor experience and that the care given did not meet your standards whilst you were waiting for the birth of your baby..

Unfortunately there is not enough information in your post to allow us to look into the matters you have raised thoroughly therefore I would ask that you contact our Trust’s Patient Advise and Liaison Service (PALS).

This would also allow us look into the matters you have raised more thoroughly and also to see what lessons we could learn from your experience.

Please call our Patient Advise and Liaison Service (PALS) on 0113 206 6261 or alternatively email patientexperience.leedsth@nhs.net


Senior Nurse

Patient Experience

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful