"Accurate information should be published"

About: Liverpool Community Health NHS Trust

(as a staff member posting for a patient/service user),

On the current Liverpool Community Health (LCH) leaflet for the phlebotomy service it says that you can access the service at a series of walk in centres. Being ill, I needed a set of bloods taking. The easiest centre for me to visit is the Ropewalks Health Centre in Argyle St L1, because I can get there by bus.

So I went along this morning and arrived just before midday, to be told that the nurse (phlebotomist) was about to finish for the day, and was taking no more callers so my entire journey into town and out again was wasted, due to poor information. Not a problem in normal circumstances, but when you are ill, and in my case finding it hard to get around, it is to say the least annoying, and to say the best inconsiderate

Accurate information should be published, and if there is any doubt about availability at certain times it should be stated on the leaflet. Otherwise, the centres should maintain the service that they publicise.

More about:
Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Kelly Jones, Senior Project Manager Engagement and Social Value, NHS Liverpool CCG

Dear Julzb32,

I'm sorry to hear you have had this expereince, especially because you were trying to access the service when you were particularly unwell.

I've gone back to the leaflet you mentioned and on the current version the operating times of the clinic are advertised, along with a notice to recommend that people arrive 30 minutes before the clinic is due to close as it could be busy. I can only assume you had an old copy of the leaflet and I apologise if there are leaflets in circulation that do not have accurate clinic times in them. I will ask the team to look into this.

Usually staff will try to accommdate as many people as possible at the clinics and I'm so sorry on this occassion they were unable to see you.

I do hope you managed to get your bloods taken and that you are feeling better.

For future reference I've attached a link below that details all the phelebotomy services available across the city, along with what days of the week they run and what times.


I do hope this is helpful and I'm sorry you had this expereince.

Kind regards,


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful