"Nothing at all there was problems ..."

About: Wansbeck Hospital

(as the patient),

What I liked

Nothing at all there was problems from the minute I was admitted. Tests that were supposed to be done but were not!

What could be improved

I was sent from HDU to Ward 17 after intensive treatment I felt like they didn't know what they were doing and weren’t properly qualified. The ward was dirty blood and dirt on the floor. Staffs were to busy gossiping about each other rather then looking after their patients. Even though this ward was supposed to be for Diabetics I felt like they didn't have a clue, one of the doctors nearly sent me back to the way I was when I was admitted as I had asked for insulin they failed to see me for 4 hours which sent my blood sugars and ketones higher then when I was admitted. I complained to the Doctor and all I was told was "they couldn't turn back time and it wasn't their fault". Even when I had dangerously high blood sugars they were still trying to give me ice-cream and said I could eat sweets, this in itself shows they were not qualified at all or didn’t know the risks. As if things couldn't get any worse they did blood tests then they came back to say they had lost them so they had to more! When I was admitted they said they needed a urine test it took them 5 days to get one off me as they had forgot! If they had done the test when I was admitted they would have knew the cause from the start. I also noticed while I was in this ward one old lady said her blood sugar was 8.0 (which is perfectly normal) they gave her a big glass of Lucozade which would have sent her blood sugars through the roof. I think it is terrible the lack of knowledge the staff have about Diabetes when they are dealing with diabetic patients. No wonder some of the patients had been in there for weeks.

Anything else?

I seriously think this hospital especially this ward should be investigated. I didn't feel safe at all in this place as there were too many blunders. The staff is the main problem they either don't know what they are doing or simply they don't care! I would never return to this hospital you come out worse then when you went in.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Wansbeck Hospital

The Trust would like to say how sorry they were to hear of your experience at Wansbeck General Hospital. We would like to respond to you in more detail, if you would like to write to our Complaints Department we would be very keen to investigate and provide you with a personal written response. We offer you our sincere apologies that you were unhappy with the service we provided. If you do decide to write the address for your letter is:

Complaints Department

Northumbria Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust

Cobalt Business Park

Unit 7/8

Silver Fox Way

Newcastle upon Tyne

NE27 0QJ

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful