"lack of communication and unprofessional manner"

About: The James Cook University Hospital

My step dad was sent an appointment letter from your sleep apnea clinic, which he attended and arrived in plenty of time.

we waited for way over an hour with people coming in after us and having later appointments being seen first only to be told when we saw the doctor that he didn't need to see them or (in the doctors words) "i don't know why your here, as I don't need to see you anymore" which to me was a little unprofessional especially when asked why the letter was sent in the first place, which the doctor didn't reply to and when told that the journey was not only a waste of time but also a wasted trip and money when coming from Sedgefield, the doctor just shrugged.

Not only was this unprofessional but

I think more communication is needed between your staff to insure the same mistake doesn't happen again.

More about:

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from The James Cook University Hospital

Good afternoon

Thank you for your feedback regarding you and your step- dad's experience during your visit to the sleep clinic at The James Cook University Hospital.

I am sorry you have cause for concern.

To enable us to investigate the issues you have raised, I should be grateful if you would contact the Patient Advice & Liaison Service on 01642 854807 to provide us with further information.

Yours sincerely

Miss Barbara Bellamy

IG & Patient Safety Advisor

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful